Eliott Nicot 🇫🇷
Mountaineer and journalist

Eliott Nicot joined the Lagoped Family during the writing of his film DĂ©sescalation, for which Lagoped is a partner.

A military guide graduated from the EMHM in Chamonix, Eliott works as a journalist, videographer and photographer. Founder of a mountain film festival, he is passionate about mountaineering, paragliding and skiing. Up there, Eliott likes to create, tell stories, and pass on messages. Encounter.

ACTIVITÉS

Alpinisme
Ski Snowboard

Where does his passion for the mountains come from?

Born in France to parents who were passionate about mountains, I grew up in the Finnish nature. As far back as I can remember, I have always needed to be in contact with the wild world. It seems to me that its energy carries a fullness and an accuracy which gives a raw and simple meaning to existence.

Quite early on, a burning attraction to the world of high mountains gave me my skills as a skier, mountaineer and paraglider: I worked as a ski instructor in Austria before pursuing a dense military career. , particularly within the EMHM of Chamonix. However, if I became passionate about the world above, my attachment to nature in its entirety has only grown. And today more than ever, it seems crucial to me to slow down and add nuance to what we do.

Furthermore, it was in my search for these different shades of life that my vocation and my profession as a journalist was born. Driven by a rather atypical career path punctuated among other things by obtaining mountain diplomas, a stint at university and military experiences abroad, creating, telling and transmitting has naturally become my way of connecting all this which animates me.

Why be part of the Lagoped Family?

It is a great satisfaction to be part of the Lagoped adventure which, in addition to allowing me to express myself, is a guarantor of values ​​deeply aligned with mine. And for good reason, it is difficult to imagine when you are passionate about outdoor sports to add additional pressure to the ecosystems which support our practices. I am more for humility and contentment, and for sobriety which does not taint performance!

I am happy to be able to wear and represent a French brand which is growing in the mountain world.

De-escalation, what future for our mountains?

In just ten minutes, this film opens the debate on the use of mountaineering routes and raises crucial questions about our relationship with nature, mountaineering, the environment and the future of these essential components. Why focus on the same routes when our mountains are full of routes to explore?

“De-escalation” gives voice to “ordinary mountaineers” and high mountain guides, highlighting the contradictions they face. With testimonies filmed between the Écrins massif and the Mont Blanc massif, this high-altitude micro-sidewalk provokes reflection on the overconcentration of Alpine tourism and leisure activities, while launching the debate on the practice of contemporary mountaineering.

Through breathtaking images, the film questions the limits of outdoor practice in a fragile environment.

Available on Youtube.

Interview | Eliott Nicot - De-escalation

One last word ?

Back from the world of the armed forces and following my time at the high mountain military school in Chamonix, I wanted to continue to transmit something in the mountains. Through my images and my stories, I now seek to tell stories. That of nature, of mountain people, but also of past and present lives. So for me, journalism brings together under a single banner my desire and my means to convey messages. Relevant for their aesthetics, their positive impact on mountain safety, or on the preservation of the environment, I believe that many stories parallel to a certain consumerism of nature deserve to be told.

Eliott Nicot 🇫🇷
Alpiniste et journaliste

Eliott Nicot a rejoint la Lagoped Family Ă  l'occasion de l'Ă©criture de son film DĂ©sescalade, pour lequel Lagoped est partenaire.

Guide militaire diplômé de l'EMHM de Chamonix, Eliott travaille en tant que journaliste, vidéaste et photographe. Fondateur d'un festival de films de montagne, il est passionné d'alpinisme, parapente et de ski. Là haut, Eliott aime créer, raconter, et faire passer des messages. Rencontre.

ACTIVITÉS

Alpinisme
Ski Snowboard

D'oĂą lui vient sa passion de la montagne ?

Né en France de parents passionnés de montagne, j’ai grandi dans la nature Finlandaise. Aussi loin que je me souvienne, j'ai toujours eu besoin d'être au contact du monde sauvage. Il me semble que son énergie est porteuse d'une plénitude et d'une justesse qui donne un sens brut et simple à l'existence.

Assez tôt, une brulante attirance pour l'univers de la haute-montagne m'a octroyé mes armes de skieur, d’alpiniste et de parapentiste : J'ai travaillé en tant que moniteur de ski en Autriche avant de poursuivre une dense carrière militaire, notamment au sein de l’EMHM de Chamonix. Pourtant si je me suis passionné pour le monde d'en haut, mon attachement pour la nature dans sa globalité n'a fait que grandir. Et aujourd'hui plus que jamais, il me parait crucial de ralentir et de mettre de la nuance dans ce que nous faisons.

Par ailleurs, c'est dans ma recherche de ces différentes teintes de la vie qu'est née ma vocation et mon métier de journaliste. Poussé par un parcours plutôt atypique ponctué entre autres par l'obtention de diplômes de montagne, d'un passage à l'université et d'expériences militaires à l'étranger, créer, raconter et transmettre est naturellement devenu ma manière de relier tout ce qui m'anime.

Pourquoi faire partie de la Lagoped Family ?

C'est une grande satisfaction de faire partie de l'aventure Lagoped qui, en plus de me permettre de m'exprimer, est garante de valeurs profondément alignées aux miennes. Et pour cause, il est difficilement concevable lorsque l'on est passionné de sports outdoor de rajouter une pression supplémentaire aux écosystèmes qui supportent nos pratiques. Je suis plutôt pour l’humilité et le contentement, et pour la sobriété qui n’entache pas la performance !

Je suis heureux de pouvoir porter et représenter une marque Française qui prend de l'ampleur de le monde de la montagne.

DĂ©sescalade, quel avenir pour nos montagnes ?

En seulement dix minutes, ce film ouvre le débat sur la fréquentation des voies d'alpinisme et soulève des questions cruciales sur notre relation avec la nature, l'alpinisme, l'environnement et l'avenir de ces composantes essentielles. Pourquoi se concentrer sur les mêmes itinéraires alors que nos massifs regorgent de voies à explorer ?

"Désescalade" donne la parole aux "alpinistes ordinaires" et aux guides de haute montagne, mettant en lumière les contradictions auxquelles ils font face. Avec des témoignages filmés entre le massif des Écrins et le massif du mont Blanc, ce micro-trottoir d'altitude suscite la réflexion sur la surconcentration du tourisme et des loisirs alpins, tout en lançant le débat sur la pratique de l'alpinisme contemporain.

Ă€ travers des images Ă  couper le souffle, le film interroge les limites de la pratique outdoor dans un milieu fragile.

Disponible sur Youtube.

Interview | Eliott Nicot - La DĂ©sescalade

Un dernier mot ?

De retour du monde des forces armées et suite à mon passage à  l'école militaire de haute montagne de Chamonix, j'ai voulu continuer à transmettre quelque chose en montagne. Par le biais de mes images et de mes récits, je cherche désormais à raconter des histoires. Celle de la nature, des montagnards, mais aussi de vies passées et présentes. Ainsi pour moi, le journalisme regroupe sous une seule bannière mon envie et mes moyens de faire passer des messages. Pertinentes pour leur esthétisme, leur impact positif sur la sécurité en montagne, ou sur la préservation de l'environnement, je crois que beaucoup d'histoires parallèles à un certain consumérisme de la nature méritent d'être racontées.