Olivier Fichou 🇫🇷

Photographer

Olivier began taking photos in 2015 during an expedition to the Arctic. Winner of international expedition grants and surrounded by multiple sponsors and partners, he sets out to open glacial routes with, for the first time, a reflex camera in his backpack. He won't come out anymore.

After dozens of expeditions, from the great polar expanses to the giants of the Himalayas, in collaboration with the biggest players in the outdoor world, photography, initially as a means, has become a goal. Inseparable from his skills as a mountaineer and steep skier, he can hoist his device up the most technical and remote faces.

Learn more

ACTIVITÉS

Randonnée
Escalade
Ski Snowboard
Alpinisme

My vision and practice of mountains and photography

We don't go to the mountains to simply enjoy the great outdoors and the landscapes. We go there because we like it there. We eliminate the superfluous and we find ourselves alone. We only rely on ourselves. It is a space of great simplicity, an environment in
in which we devote ourselves fully to the present moment, in which our decisions have a direct impact on the course of things.


The high mountains are becoming more and more trendy and advertising, where success rhymes with the supposed intrepidity of a few braggarts. Facing risks and knowing how to manage them is part of the satisfaction that high mountains can bring. But more and more adventures present this risk factor as a guideline. Taking risks seems to be the goal of the practice... Risk can enter into the equation of our satisfaction but it must remain a means. A way to appreciate one's ability to minimize and control it.


My sensitivity in photography is to transcribe and highlight the very special moments of life that the high mountains offer us, and sometimes impose on us. It is the photography of the mountaineer rather than the photography of the mountain.

The Lagoped Family

We all have individual goals and challenges in the mountains, but we must not lose sight of the challenge we all have in common: that of preserving them.


Lagoped reminds us of this and helps us equip ourselves without compromising our ambitions for the success of this objective which concerns us all. It is only a stone, but it helps to build the cairn which shows practitioners and industrialists the path to follow.


So yes, I am very proud to be part of the Family and to bring, as an ambassador, my gravel to this great cairn that we must build together!

Projects

After around ten expeditions in the Caucasus, the Andes, the Himalayas, the Tian Shan, the Arctic, the Middle East... I have been refocusing for several years on more local and more sober projects, during which I focuses more on methods, progress and human experiences rather than an ambitious summit objective.


The Alps are full of legendary routes and I intend to continue exploring them in slippers, crampons or under a sail before returning to tackle more distant projects. The only constant in the equation: my camera, which will always be in my bag.

Ses récits

Escapade sur le Mont Charvin

Getaway to Mont Charvin

In February 2024, Olivier Fichou, member of the Lagoped Family, takes a getaway with friends to one of the points of the Aravis massif, Mont Charvin which dominates the Albertville valley. He shares his photos and memories with us in the high mountains.

Olivier Fichou 🇫🇷

Photographe

Olivier commence à faire des photos en 2015 lors d'une expédition en Arctique. Lauréat de bourses d’expéditions internationales et entouré de multiples sponsors et partenaires, il part ouvrir des voies glaciaires avec, pour la première fois, un appareil photo reflexe dans son sac à dos. Il n'en sortira plus.

Après des dizaines d’expéditions, des grandes étendues polaires aux géants de l’Himalaya, en collaboration avec les plus grands acteurs de l’outdoor, la photographie initialement comme un moyen est devenue un but. Indissociable de sa compétence d’alpiniste et de skieur de pente raide, il peut hisser son appareil dans les faces les plus techniques et les plus reculées.

En savoir plus

ACTIVITÉS

Randonnée
Escalade
Ski Snowboard
Alpinisme

Ma vision et ma pratique de la montagne et de la photographie

Nous n’allons pas en montagne pour simplement profiter du grand air et des paysages. Nous y allons parce que nous y sommes bien. Nous éliminons le superflu et nous nous retrouvons seuls. Nous ne comptons plus que sur nous-mêmes. C’est un espace de grande simplicité, un environnement dans
lequel nous nous consacrons pleinement au moment présent, dans lequel nos décisions ont un impact direct sur le cours des choses.


La haute-montagne devient de plus en plus tendance et publicitaire, où réussite rime avec la prétendue intrépidité de quelques fanfarons. Se confronter à des risques et savoir les gérer fait partie de la satisfaction que peut apporter la haute montagne. Mais de plus en plus d’aventures présentent ce facteur risque comme une ligne directrice. Prendre des risques semble être le but de la pratique… Le risque peut rentrer dans l’équation de notre satisfaction mais il doit rester un moyen. Un moyen d’apprécier sa capacité à le minimiser et à le maîtriser.


Ma sensibilité en photographie, c’est de retranscrire et de mettre en avant les instants de vie si particuliers que la haute-montagne nous propose, et parfois nous impose. C’est la photographie de l’alpiniste plutôt que la photographie de la montagne.

La Lagoped Family

Nous avons tous des objectifs individuels et des défis en montagne, mais nous ne devons pas perdre de vue le défi que nous avons tous en commun : celui de les préserver.


Lagoped nous le rappelle et nous aide à nous équiper sans compromettre nos ambitions quant à la réussite de cet objectif qui nous concerne tous. Ce n’est qu’une pierre, mais qui participe à construire le cairn qui montre aux pratiquants et aux industriels le chemin à suivre.


Alors oui, je suis très fier de faire partie de la Family et d’apporter, en tant qu’ambassadeur, mon gravier à ce grand cairn que l’on doit construire ensemble !

Projets

Après une dizaine d’expéditions dans le Caucase, les Andes, l’Himalaya, le Tian Shan, l’Arctique, le Moyen-Orient… je me recentre depuis quelques années sur des projets plus locaux et plus sobres, durant lesquels je m’attache davantage aux méthodes, au cheminement et aux expériences humaines plutôt qu’à un objectif sommital ambitieux.


Les Alpes regorgent de voies mythiques et je compte bien continuer à les explorer en chaussons, en crampons ou sous une voile avant de retourner me frotter à des projets plus lointains. La seule invariable de l’équation : mon appareil photo, qui sera toujours dans mon sac.

Ses récits

Escapade sur le Mont Charvin

Escapade sur le Mont Charvin

En février 2024, Olivier Fichou, membre de la Lagoped Family s'offre une escapade entre amis sur l'une des pointes du massif des Aravis, le Mont Charvin qui domine la vallée d’Albertville. Il nous partage ses photos et ses souvenirs en haute montagne.